Congratulations Dance Award Winners for 2019!

Julia Wray Memorial Dance Award: Julia Kemper.  

  • Julia Wray Memorial Dance Award celebrates the memory of a much beloved Julia Wray who for many years was the leader and passionate protagonist for dance at Duke and in North Carolina. It is awarded to a senior who has shown outstanding leadership in our program.

Clay Taliaferro Dance Award: Megan Mauro.

  • Clay Taliaferro Dance Award, instituted in 2006 to honor this extraordinary performing artist, choreographer and teacher, recognizes the artistic and technical growth of an undergraduate sophomore or junior student who has the “potential to become a professional dancer, teacher, or choreographer.”

Dance Writing Award: shared by Michelle Staggers and Blythe Davis.

  • The Dance Writing Award recognizes the Duke University undergraduate who has written a paper demonstrating excellence in dance writing and has proven his/her ability to translate the moving text to the written word.